“Adobe PDF Reader Software” phishing scam

I received an interesting e-mail message today.


This is to remind that a new version of Adobe Acrobat Reader with enhanced features for viewing, creating, editing, printing and internet-sharing PDF documents has been released.

To upgrade your application:

+ Go to : [link removed]
+ Download and upgrade your application.

Copyright 2010 Adobe Systems Incorporated. All rights reserved.

Adobe Systems Incorporated
Attn: Change of Address/Privacy
343 Preston Street
Ottawa, ON K1S 1N4

I got suspicious because Adobe does not refer to its software as “Adobe PDF Reader” – it’s called “Adobe Reader.” Sure enough, a little checking on the web, and snopes.com confirms it’s a phishing e-mail that’s been in circulation since late last year.

Time to remind everyone to never click on links in e-mail messages unless you are absolutely sure that the sender is legitimate, and even then you should think twice.

Remember, be alert! America needs more lerts!*

* No extra charge for dumb joke.